Bronxville Non-Partisan Committee Announces New Members Print


By Susan Meaney, Member, Bronxville Non-Partisan Committee for the Nomination and Election of School Trustees

Jun. 19, 2019:  The Bronxville Non-Partisan Committee for the Nomination and Election of School Trustees (NPC) announced the individuals who will join the committee, following the village-wide election that ended on June 11. This year, one representative from each of Bronxville’s seven voting districts was elected to serve a three-year term. In two of those districts, a representative won re-election after being elected in 2018 to serve out the remaining year of a retiring member’s term.

The new members are Dean Vanderwarker (District 16); Ed Reilly (District 17); Nick Willoughby (District 19); Beata Gocyk-Farber (District 20); and Anthony Mercando (District 22). The re-elected members are Jeff Hine (District 18) and Lee Huang (District 21).

The NPC thanks the five members of the committee who rolled off the committee effective June 12: Larry Bettino, Andrew Harwood, Jim Purdy, Lindy Devereux, and Don Bringle. These individuals have generously donated their time and energy to ensuring that the candidates for school board trustee are recruited, properly vetted, and nominated each year. Their service to the NPC is very much appreciated. 

The NPC will resume activity in September when the committee will reconvene to begin soliciting applications for school trustee candidates to run in the school district election in May of 2020.

Editor's note: As a public service, MyhometownBronxville publishes articles from local institutions, officeholders, and individuals. MyhometownBronxville does not fact-check statements therein, and any opinions expressed therein do not necessarily reflect the thinking of its staff