Bronxville Athletes Honored at 2019 Fall Sports Award Evening Print

By S. Quinn DeJoy and J. Murrer

Dec. 4, 2019:  Students, coaches, and parents gathered in the high school auditorium before the Thanksgiving break to recognize the varsity athletes for their accomplishments during the fall sports season.

Athletic Council Tri-presidents Hanna Bishop, Tim Murray, and Grace McSherry hosted the awards ceremony and introduced the Bronco teams. The girls’ soccer and cross country teams won their respective league championships, the boys’ soccer team won the league and sectional championship, and the girls field hockey team won leagues, sectionals, and the State Championship.

Bronxville athletes were recognized with 52 All-League awards, and eleven Broncos were honored with All-Section awards. Field hockey senior Sunday Ladas received All-State honors.

Bronxville coaches also received accolades. Jacqueline Frawley was named Field Hockey Coach of the Year for Conference 3, Coach Donny Lucas was named Section 1 Coach of the Year for Class B boys’ soccer, and Coach Patsy Manganelli was honored with the Section 1, Class B Co-Coach of the Year award for football.

“We have one of the best coaching staffs in Section 1, and I am very proud to work with them every day,” said Athletic Director Karen Peterson in her opening remarks at the sports award ceremony. “I see how much they care for all of you as athletes, and how much they care for Bronco athletics, so a big thank you to our coaches. “
Peterson also addressed the athletes, told them to be proud of their accomplishments, and thanked them for their participation in Bronxville athletics.

“We celebrate you and your team, and our teams need each and every one of you. You have all helped us make this a very positive season for our school and community, and you set that goal early in the fall and succeeded. We want to thank you all for that.”

Go Broncos.

Award winners are listed below. 

Field Hockey

Coach: Jacquelyn Frawley

Assistant: Leslie Morris

Captains: Sunday Ladas, Holly Ungvary, Grace McSherry

Golden Dozen: Caitlin Mooney and Grace McSherry

All-State: Sunday Ladas

All-Elite and All-Section: S. Ladas, G. McSherry

All-League: Hanna Bishop, S. Ladas, G. McSherry, C. Mooney, Cassidy Mullen, Hailey Mullen, Holly Ungvary

All-League, Honorable Mention: Madison Meehan, Molly Denning, Olivia Gunther, Julia Widen

Rookie of the Year: J. Widen

Most Improved: M. Meehan

Heart and Hustle: H. Bishop

Graduating Seniors: Holly Ungvary, Grace McSherry, Sunday Ladas, Caitlin Mooney, Hanna Bishop, Madison Meehan, Cassidy Mullen, Hailey Mullen, Molly Denning, and Olivia Martin.

Girls' Soccer


Coach: Don Cupertino

Assistant Coaches: Caitlin Hoffer, Michaela Donohue, Killian Donohoue

Captains: Ashley Toal, Victoria Ruffo, Maeve Sullivan, and Alex Doukas

All-Section: Victoria Ruffo, Lily Jebejian, Milly Koenig, Alex Doukas

All-Section, Honorable Mention: Maeve Sullivan, Ashley Toal

All-League: V. Ruffo, L. Jebejian, M. Koenig, A. Doukas, A. Toal, Alice Vranka, Ava Black, Kiki Tormey, Jessica Sonday, Maeve Sullivan

All-League, Honorable Mention: Bridget Finley

Heart and Hustle Award: A. Vranka

Defensive MVP: V. Ruffo

Offensive MVP: A. Doukas

Team Impact Award: L. Jebejian

Coaches’ Award: Jane Becker

Leadership Award: M. Sullivan

Graduating Seniors: Ava Downs and Chloe Slater

Boys' Soccer


Coach: Donald Lucas

Assistant Coaches: Sean Kenny, Alessandro Persampieri

Captains: Theo Liao, Jimmy Gallo, Luke Doukas

Small School Player of the Year: Luke Doukas

All-State: L. Doukas

All-Section: Jimmy Gallo, L. Doukas

All-Section, Honorable Mention: Theo Liao, Luke Freeman

All-League: L. Doukas, J. Gallo, T. Liao, L. Freeman, Griffin Patterson, Henry Sheehan, Will Redman

All-League, Honorable Mention: Eco Valdes, Casey McKhann, Liam Sands, Austin Boyd

Rookie of the Year: L. Sands

Jack Murray Sportsmanship Award: Jed Hodulik

Stu Bush Leadership Award: L. Freeman

Graduating Seniors: Theo Liao, Jimmy Gallo, Eco Valdes, Luke Doukas, Theo Sperber, Michael Burstein, Tim Murray, Luke Freeman, and Jed Hodulik



Coach: Patsy Manganelli

Assistant Coaches: Patrick Henderson, Chris Scarella, Vinny Narog, James Goldman

Captains: Colin Dempsey, Henry Donohue, Grey Warble

All-Section: Henry Donohue

All-Conference: Grey Warble, Will Flanagan

Class B Wide Receiver of the Year: W. Flanagan

Class B Linebacker of the Year: H. Donohue

All-League: Colin Dempsey, Connor Randall, Philip Meyers, George McCormick, T.J. Curran

All-League, Honorable Mention: Charlie Knox, Will Murray, Jay Coyne

Bob Burt Award: Jack Matthews

Vito Priore Award: G. Warble

Jack Fearon Award: C. Knox

Phil Kuczma Award: P. Meyers

Offensive MVP: W. Flanagan

Defensive MVP: P.J. Krestinski

MVP: H. Donohue

Graduating Seniors: Teddy Donohue, Philip Meyers, Charlie Knox, Grey Warble, Charlie Ambrose, Harry Villanueva, Will Flanagan, Dylan Alberghine, P.J. Krestinski, Colin Dempsey, Jack Matthews

Girls' Cross Country


Coach: David Ryan

Assistant Coach: Keina Samuels

Captains: Molly Palma, Avery Widen

All-League: Ruby Howell, Molly Palma, Ella Stupart, Avery Widen, Betsy Marshall, Remi Mellinghoff, Anna Outcalt, Rachel Conniff, Rory Denning, Skyler Martin, Kailee Fino

All-League, Honorable Mention: Masha Popovic, Sophia Prior, Athena Howell, Nadia Newton, Lyndsie Schultz, Audrey Spiegel

MVPs: M. Palma, E. Stupart, B. Marshall

Graduating seniors: Eve Balsiero, Ruby Howell, Alisa Kanganis, Sabrina Mellinghoff, Molly Palma, Masha Popovic, Sophia Prior, Ella Stupart, Amanda Troy

Boys' Cross Country


Coach: Jim Agnello

Assistant Coach: Vic Palumbo

Captains: Dylan Ruddy, James Apostolatos, Joe Daher

All-League: James Apostolatos, James Balseiro, Finn Ruhanen, Luke Sheehan, Ben Mandanas, Joe Daher, Billy Rizzo, John Ryan

All-League, Honorable Mention: Owen Atkeson, Dylan Ruddy, Spencer Blumenreich, Liam Dollar

Most Valuable Runner: J. Ryan

Most Valuable Runner, Freshman: Sean McGrath

Most Improved Runner: J. Balseiro

Bronco Spirit Award: O. Atkeson, Cian Marluccio, Alexey Gorbunov

Graduating seniors: James Apostolatos, Joe Daher, Benjamin Hanley, Brian Li, Dylan Ruddy

Girls’ Swimming and Diving: Bronxville-Tuckahoe


Swimming Coach: Dominick Galimi

Assistant Coach: Claire O’Reilly

Captains: Jacqueline Coquillette, Eileen Marshall

All-League: Julia Bazinet

Most Valuable Swimmer: Julia Bazinet

Most Valuable Diver: Keala Tatarian

Most Improved Swimmer: Marian Schafer

Girls' Tennis


Coach:  Steve Klurfeld

Captains:  Eva Dani, Amelia Srebnik, Katie Formato

All-Section: Rory Christian, Eva Dana

All-League: Katie Formato, R. Christian, E. Dani

Coaches' Award: A. Srebnik

Most Valuable Player: K. Formato

Rookie of the Year: Fiona Vail

Graduating Seniors: Eva Dani, Amelia Srebnik, Sophia Ricciarini

Photos by J. Murrer