Bronxville School Chess Team Sweeps NSCF Grand Prix Tournament Print

Mar. 19, 2014:  The Bronxville Chess Team swept the National Scholastic Chess Foundations (NSCF) Grand Prix Tournament, which was held on Sunday, March 9, at the Greenwich Academy.

The remarkable showing reflected the combined efforts of twenty-five Bronxville students in grades K to 7 who attended. Participants ranged in experience and skill level from novice players to those competing at the Future Masters Level. 

Team trophies were awarded to Bronxville School in all six sections. (Team trophies are not awarded in the Future Masters section.) There were three first-place team finishes (Championship, Booster, Primary Novice), a second-place finish in Reserve, a fourth-place finish in Primary, and a fifth-place finish in K-1.   

Individual players who scored within the top three within their section include Jack Kochansky (Future Masters), Calvin Golimbu and Conner Huang (Championship), Tyler Tanaka-Wong and William Bornmann (Booster), and Noor Kaur and Robert Harrison Brown (Primary Novice). 

Other schools well represented in the team awards were Greenwich Country Day School, Greenwich Academy, Brunswick School, and Whitby School. 

The players met in a spirit of camaraderie and competition at this local tournament. It was the fourth and final one of the school year sponsored by the Bronxville Chess Team, led by parent volunteers Julie Daher, Shenan Golimbu, and Jocelyn Angelone

The team is gathering momentum as many players will head to the United States Chess Federation's National Championship under the leadership of team captain Chris Welcome. The National Elementary (K-6) Championship will be held during Mother's Day weekend in Dallas, Texas. 

Bronxville Participants in the March 9 Tournament: 

Future Masters:  Jack Kochansky, Robert Scott Schetlick 

Championship: Calvin Golimbu, Conner Huang, Liam Angelone, Alisa Kanganis, George Daher 

Reserve:  Lorenzo Acharya, Damian Engenheiro, Maya Engenheiro, William Grant 

Booster: Tyler Tanaka-Wong, William Bornmann, Angad Singh, Jake Holmes 

Primary:  James Robert MacNaughton IV, Charlie Hodulik 

Primary Novice:  Noor Kaur, Robert Harrison Brown, Joseph Matthews, Leah Sullivan, Liam Nyland 

K-1:  Gamunu Withana, Samuel DeMarchi, Carter Boyle 

Pictured here:  Lorenzo Acharya and Maya Engenheiro receiving Reserve Section team trophy.

Photo by Lilla Runco